My Cart
Your cart is empty.
2010 Kerope Scholarship lg

2010 Kerope Zildjian Scholarship

Winner Announced - Matthew Decker (Roosevelt University)

Zildjian is pleased to announce that Matthew Decker, from Roosevelt University, is the winner of the 2010 Kerope Zildjian Scholarship. Matthew is a student of Chicago Symphony percussionist Vadim Karpinos and is going into his senior year. Matthew will receive a $5,000 tuition award, an expense free trip to the Zildjian factory and complimentary cymbals.

The first round of competition was judged by Neil Grover and Richard Flanagan of the Boston Symphony and Pops. Five finalists were chosen and their unmarked CD's were sent to Marc Damoulakis of the Cleveland Orchestra. Marc chose Matt's as the winner.

The finalists were:
Zachary Webb, University of Southern Alabama
Ben Christensen, University of North Texas
Nate Tucker, Boston Conservatory
Derrill Koelz, University of Alabama

The Kerope Zildjian scholarship is an opportunity for the Zildjian family to pay tribute to Kerope, who presided over one of the most-storied periods in Zildjian history. From 1865 until his death in 1909 in Constantinople, Kerope continued to develop the classic K. Zildjian sound, coveted by the world's greatest percussionists. In memory of Kerope's deep commitment to the art of craftsmanship, the Zildjian family established this scholarship to encourage and reward percussionists in their pursuit of performing excellence.

Zildjian congratulates all that were involved!

Watch a video interview with Matt and Zildjian's Keith Aleo about the recording practice, cymbal selection and more - all in HD!


The Archives
The Categories
!-- OwnerIQ Analytics tag -->