My Cart
Your cart is empty.
Zildjian Artists at 2011 ACM Awards

Zildjian Artists Perform and Win Big at 2011 Academy of Country Music Awards

Held Sunday, April 3, 2011

After the Academy of Country Music Awards (ACMA) last night, it left no doubt that country music is the new "Pop" genre. With cross-over performances by Rihanna and Steven Tyler, and many other performances/nominated songs that weren’t inherently "country" sounding, plus a massive audience in two venues in Las Vegas, there was a feeling that this awards show was more about popular music in America than anything else. The production of this show was fantastic, the hosts, Blake Shelton (Z artist Tracy Broussard is his drummer) and Reba McEntire were witty and amusing, and award/performance presenters came from other music genres, film, and television. Add in actual singing and music playing, and it was some seriously entertaining television!

Zildjian Artists Performing on the show were Travis McNabb with Sugarland, Steve Misamore with Dierks Bentley, and Boone Daughdrill with The Band Perry. Here are the award nominations for those artists with Zildjian drummers, with the winners highlighted (* denotes winners):

Top Male Vocalist of the Year
Blake Shelton (Tracy Broussard)
George Strait (Mike Kennedy)

Top Vocal Duo of the Year
* Sugarland (Travis McNabb)

Top Vocal Group of the Year
* Lady Antebellum (Matt Billingslea)
Little Big Town (Andy Hubbard)
The Band Perry (Boone Daughdrill)
Zac Brown Band (Chris Fryar)

Top New Vocal Duo or Group of the Year
* The Band Perry (Boone Daughdrill)

Top New Artist
* The Band Perry (Boone Daughdrill)

Album of the Year
Hemingway's Whiskey – Kenny Chesney (Sean Paddock)
* Need You Now — Lady Antebellum (Travis McNabb)
Up on the Ridge – Dierks Bentley (Steve Misamore)
You Get What You Give – Zac Brown Band (Chris Fryar)

Single Record of the Year
"As She's Walking Away" — Zac Brown Band (Chris Fryar)
"If I Die Young" – The Band Perry (Boone Daughdrill)
"The Boys of Fall" – Kenny Chesney (Sean Paddock)

Song of the Year
"As She's Walking Away" – Zac Brown Band (Chris Fryar)
"If I Die Young" – The Band Perry (Boone Daughdrill)

Video of the Year
"Hillbilly Bone" – Blake Shelton Featuring Trace Adkins (Tracy Broussard)
"Stuck Like Glue" – Sugarland (Travis McNabb)
"The Boys of Fall" – Kenny Chesney (Sean Paddock)

Vocal Event of the Year
* As She’s Walking Away – Zac Brown Band (Chris Fryar)

The Archives
The Categories
!-- OwnerIQ Analytics tag -->